News & Reviews: Events

2014 Americana Award Winners Announced

Sponsored By

The roots music world came together in Nashville to celebrate the past year and honor their own.

by Dan Gabel
September 18, 2014

Jason Isbell performs "Cover Me Up" in March 2014. Video by American Public Media's Wits with John Moe.

The Americana Music Association hosted its 13th-annual Honors and Awards Celebration last night (Wednesday, September 17) in the historic Ryman Auditorium in Nashville, Tennessee. Jim Lauderdale hosted the evening after an opening performance with his musical partner (and winner of the night’s Instrumentalist of the Year award) Buddy Miller and a house band that included Ry Cooder on guitar.

The night’s big winner was Jason Isbell, who took home awards for Artist of the Year, Album of the Year (for the excellent Southeastern), and Song of the Year (for “Cover Me Up”).

Among the other awards (see full list below) Lorretta Lynn, Taj Mahal, and Flaco Jiménez were honored with Lifetime Achievement awards and Jackson Browne was recognized with the Spirit of Americana/Free Speech in Music Award.

The Ryman’s packed house was treated to performances by Isbell, the Milk Carton Kids, Sarah Jarosz, Valerie June, Rosanne Cash, Robert Plant and Patty Griffin, St. Paul and the Broken Bones, and many others.

An edited version of the evening’s performances will be aired on Austin City Limits (PBS) in November 2014. In the meantime, see the full list of winners and nominees below, and start filling in your music collection with these great acts!

2014 Americana Honors and Awards Winners and Nominees

Album of the Year: Southeastern, Jason Isbell; producer Dave Cobb

Also nominated

Build Me Up From Bones, Sarah Jarosz

The Lights from the Chemical Plant, Robert Ellis

The River and the Thread, Rosanne Cash

Artist of the Year: Jason Isbell

Also nominated:

Rosanne Cash

Rodney Crowell

Robert Ellis

Duo/Group of the Year: The Milk Carton Kids

Also nominated:

The Avett Brothers

The Devil Makes Three

Hard Working Americans

Lake Street Dive

Song of the Year: “Cover Me Up” by Jason Isbell

Also nominated:

“A Feather’s Not a Bird” by Rosanne Cash

“Ohio” by Patty Griffin

“Only Lies” by Robert Ellis

Emerging Act of the Year: Sturgill Simpson

Also nominated:

Hurray for the Riff Raff

Parker Millsap

St. Paul & the Broken Bones

Valerie June

Instrumentalist of the Year: Buddy Miller

Also nominated:

Larry Campell

Fats Kaplin

Bryan Sutton

Spirit of Americana/Free Speech in Music Award: Jackson Browne

Lifetime Achievement for Instrumentalist: Flaco Jiménez

Lifetime Achievement for Performance: Taj Mahal

Lifetime Achievement Award for Songwriter: Loretta Lynn

President's Award: Jimmie Rodgers / Award Presented to Jimmie Rodgers Museum in Meridian, MS

Category: News & Reviews

Comments and Discussion

Leave a Reply

Captcha Code

Click the image to see another captcha.


Article Thumbnail
Sep 22, 2020
Taylor's Rich Casciato answers questions about amplification and recording on Taylor's Primetime Livestream.

Start Learning Today

One Course: $20/month or $200/year
Two Courses: $30/month or $300/year
Access to All Courses: $100/month

Peghead Nation’s String School is your source for roots music instruction, bringing you full courses in guitar, mandolin, banjo, ukulele, fiddle, and Dobro, featuring talented instructors, high-quality video instruction, accurate notation and tab, and fun songs to play right from the beginning. Enroll and become a Peghead today!